We have two new favorite breakfast items:
Confetti Eggs
+
Raspberry Oatmeal Bars

confetti eggs and raspberry oatmeal bars

Confetti Eggs are really just Pantry Eggs.
Or, Fridge Eggs, really.
Anything (tasty) you have in your fridge is fair game 🙂
Lately I’ve been adding:
cheddar cheese, baby bella mushrooms, tomatoes, onions, bacon, bell peppers, salt + pepper, half & half.
It’s just an omelet in scrambled form.
The key wish scrambled eggs is to cook them over low heat slowly.
If they cook quickly, they get sort of rubbery.
(My father taught me this trick.)

You can find the recipe for the Raspberry Oatmeal bars over at Smitten Kitchen.
We thought they were a tad too sweet,
so if I’m making them for breakfast I use whole wheat flour and decrease the sugar by 1/4 c. in the crust/crumb.
If we’re eating this for dessert I leave it as is.
They really are delicious.
An added bonus – they are easy for Mike to take to work.
I’m trying to build a collection of “transportable breakfasts,”
so if you have any suggestions please do pass them along!

Happy Sunday 🙂

