I’ve been MIA for a bit. 
Mostly because we were on vacation.
And ever since then I’ve been trying to accept the fact that life is not a vacation
(contrary to what my summer might have indicated.)
Just an example of how life is not vacation:
While I’m sitting here in the dining room blogging,
I can literally smell the floors they are so dirty.
You can thank Julia and her love for hurling milk cups for that.
See?
It’s like I said:
more than you wanted to really know about how dirty my house is.

Anywho – now for the smatterings of goings-on around here.

We finished vacation with the final game in our ladder golf tournament.
It was Andrew & Shannon against Mom & me.

SONY DSC

 

Shannon and Andrew were the victors.
Mom and I were the losers.
But we all got ice cream, so I’m willing to not be bitter.

SONY DSC

Rachel and Julia hung out on the sidelines.
(PC goes to Rosie)

SONY DSC  

And now to smattering #2:
trying the approach of roasting peppers already cut so you don’t have to turn them.  Brilliant mostly.  My one complaint is that they don’t retain their juices, which is not preferable when making a sauce out of these babies.

SONY DSC

Cuddle and reading time with Dad.

SONY DSC

 

Surviving Hurricane Irene.
I brought my basil plant inside because it has been good to me.
My tomato plant, not so much, so I left it out there to die.

SONY DSC

Making Pom Pom Necklaces

SONY DSC 

Making Citrus Sea Salt Body Scrub
I’ve been using this on my hands – nothing has moisturized them better!

SONY DSC

Making bookmarks.
Margie made one for me a few years ago and so, as you can see, I’ve copied her craft.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Playing outside.
One of her words is “die”
(we’re not sure what it means in her language?)
but regardless, she likes to point at the flowers and say, “die!”
It’s a real hoot.

 SONY DSC SONY DSC

 

Playing “boo!” with Grandpa.

SONY DSC

And just in general getting into all kinds of trouble.

SONY DSC

Current projects:
– making a bed skirt for our bed
– trying to pick curtains and new blinds for our bedroom
and on that note, can someone please tell me why blinds can cost hundreds and hundreds of dollars? Seriously. People should be paying US to own blinds.
TMI?  Sorry.  I did warn you.

Upcoming project:
– Painting the living room and stairwell in a few weeks.  Heaven help us.

Okey dokey.
That’s all I got.
Now I’m off to make BBMTs.
(Bacon, Basil, Mozzarella & Tomato Sandwiches.  YUM!)

Happy Wednesday!

