“To be content as a result of some external thing is like warming a man’s clothes by the fire.  But to be content through an inward disposition of the soul is like the warmth that a man’s clothes have from the natural heat of his body.”

~ Jeremiah Burroughs, The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment

 

Yep.  I’m going through this book again.
Why?
Because I still desperately need to learn the art of contentment 🙂

“One who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much…”
”No servant can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other.  You cannot serve both God and money.”

~ Luke 16:10a, 13

 

This is closely connected to the heart of contentment for me.
I always think that if I have more, life will be better.
I miss the fact that God tells me to be faithful with however little/much He has given me, and to not put my trust in earthly riches.
Contentment chooses God as a haven, not money.
Praying that God will teach me this 🙂

