These are the tutorials I used as my guides:
DIY: Onesie to Dress Tutorial
10-Minute Onesie Dress

 

SONY DSC

And now, a few things you should know:

1) If the tutorial says 10 minutes, just add an additional 10, and then add on 300 more for good measure.  That’s right.  It took  me 5 and 1/2 hours.

2) Be prepared to call AND text Margie 5,000 times.

3) Expect your machine to get tied up in one humongous knot and break a needle or two.

4) You will probably cry.  Several times.

5) If you are an amateur like me, you can expect to be rather pleasantly surprised when the dress DOESN’T, in fact, resemble a colorful potato sack.

6) Sixthly, if you are once again an amateur like me, you can expect the dress to not fit your child 🙂 (I clearly did not allow enough room for the waist to stretch, and I’m not sure how to either.)

7) Next, since you spent 5 hours on this darn thing, you will probably want to attempt to stuff your baby in it even if it’s the last thing you do.  You may (very happily, at first!) succeed in this venture…but there is of course a number 8 on this list.

8 ) Once you have determined that you can indeed fit your kid inside the object of your blood, sweat and tears, you will find that you cannot get her OUT.

9) Have your husband on hand so he can help you twist and turn your screaming, squirming child as your wrestle her out of what is, essentially, a baby straightjacket.  We were 1 minute away from cutting her out of it when Mike figured out a solution.  Trust me, then I REALLY would have cried.

10) Anybody want a pretty green and yellow dress? :)  Because if she is going to have a handmade Easter dress, it’s going to have to be a different one.

And now, for some pictures.
Sadly (fortunately?), I do not have any of the trauma caused by trying to extract Julia from the dress.  That would have been a good addition to her baby book for sure.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC 

If you have any suggestions for how to fix the waist problem , please please please send them my way!!!!  I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I have no idea what I’m doing :)  So any and all help would be very much appreciated!

Happy Thursday!

