SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSCSONY DSC 

I went to the gym at 5 o’clock.
Because I didn’t have to cook dinner.
Well, I had to throw everything in a pot, but that was about it.
I love that kind of cooking.
This is the recipe my mom always made growing up.
It is the best sort of comfort on a chilly night.
And the best part? 
I won’t have to cook on Thursday either.
These leftovers make great:
Roast Beef Sandwiches with Horseradish + Provolone.
A recipe that involves very little prep and makes 2 separate meals?
Yes, please.
Sign me up for roast beef on a Tuesday night!

 

Mom’s Spicy Wine Pot Roast

Ingredients:
3-4 lb. beef pot roast (you can use any cut – I used a rump roast.  Eye round is great, too)
salt + pepper
1 onion
1 (0.84 oz) brown gravy mix (we use McCormick)
1 c. water
1/4 c. ketchup
1/4 c. dry red wine
2 tsp. dijon mustard
1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1/8 tsp. garlic powder
potatoes
1 lb. baby carrots
flour + water

Directions:
1) Sprinkle meat with salt + pepper.  Place in crock pot.
2) Combine next 8 ingredients and pour over meat.  Nestle potatoes and carrots around beef in the Crockpot.  Cover and cook on low 8-10 hours or on high 4 hrs. 
3) Remove meat and slice.  Remove potatoes and carrots.  Mix a little bit of flour with a little bit of water until a paste forms.  Add to sauce and turn the pot up to high until it thickens.  Strain if desired and serve with meat and veggies! 

