I believe we have found a keeper.

SONY DSC

In spite of the fact that it contains Brussels sprouts.

SONY DSC

Seriously – the sprouts give it a very authentic taste.  And they’re covered in sauce anyways, so even if you hate Brussels Sprouts, you won’t even know they’re there!  Give it a try.

Plus, there is a jalapeno to lend some heat…SONY DSC
  And the final product is a delicious bowl of rice and sweet & spicy chicken.

SONY DSC
You can find the recipe here.

The changes I made:

– I doubled the sauce.  And I think I may make even more next time.  We are serious about sauce.

– I used a jalapeno pepper as I could not find a red chili pepper at Wegman’s.  I have a love-hate relationship with that fabulous/terrible store.

– I forgot the peanuts.  Bummer.

– We used brown jasmine rice instead of white.

I will admit that it seemed to lack something, and I’m not quite sure what it was.  But I am going to keep trying stuff until I find out what it’s missing.  Maybe some of Trader Joe’s amazing sweet chili sauce?  Yes.  That could solve the problem.  Glad I thought of that now, at 9:52 at night, instead of when I was actually cooking.
  In the meantime, it’s definitely tasty enough and is worth adding to the menu rotation.

