Yes, I know it’s 3 o’clock, and usually SNACKS are what you eat at 3 o’clock.
But I have a baby.
I don’t need any other defense.

SONY DSC

This is my take on a Black Bean and Couscous Salad I’ve made before but, since I haven’t gone grocery shopping this week yet, I had to work with what was left from last week.  Fortunately, it turned out quite tasty.

Rice and Bean Salad

Ingredients:
– 1 c. uncooked brown rice
– 2 1/4 c. chicken broth
– 3 TBSP extra virgin olive oil
– 2 TBSP lime juice
– 1 TBSP red wine vinegar
– 1/2 tsp. cumin
– 1/4 c. chopped fresh cilantro
– 1 c. frozen corn kernels, thawed
– 1 c. frozen peas, thawed
– 1 (15 oz.) can black beans, drained & rinsed
– 1 (15 oz.) can white Kidney Beans, drained & rinsed
– a few handfuls of baby spinach
– salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1) Cook the rice in the chicken broth according to packaged directions.
2) When rice is done cooking, place in a large bowl and add the cilantro, beans, peas, corn and spinach. 
3) Whisk together the olive oil, lime juice, red wine vinegar, cumin and salt and pepper.  Add to the rice and bean mixture and gently toss until coated.  Add more salt and pepper if needed.  Enjoy!

