Little in the world’s eyes.
Big in God’s.

DSC00027
Lately I’ve been thinking about what God’s called me to.
What skills do I have?  What great things are there for me to do?  What on EARTH will my college education ever do for me? 😉  Certainly there must be more?
When nothing shows up, I think I’ve missed something.
I think God’s missed something.
Certainly SOMEBODY has missed something?

And that’s when I realized I’m the one missing it.  Because I’ve been looking for the grandeur and the glory rather than the small and the joy.

I have lots to do, it just didn’t show up in the glamour I imagined it would.
They’re all beautiful things, but they don’t always sparkle in the way the world defines sparkle.

Who am I?  What am I called to right now?
I am a Christian.  I am a wife and a mother.  I am a friend.  I am a church member.  I am a tutor.  I am a homemaker.  I am a learner, a reader, a baker and a cook.
And I love all these things.

I just never imagined that perhaps small and little is exactly where God is calling me right now.  Faithful in the little.

Maybe there are bigger things that await me in the future.  I certainly hope there are.  For Christ “gave himself for us to redeem us from every lawless deed, and to purify for himself a people for his own possession, zealous for good deeds.” ~ Titus 2:14
But if there are, I first have to excel in the little that God has given me.
And if they’re given to me, they’ll be for God’s glory, not mine.
And in the meantime, there is much joy to be found in loving God and loving where He has placed me.

I have lots to do and lots to learn.  And I’m excited about it all.

One who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much…” Luke 16:10
”A faithful man will abound with blessings…” ~ Proverbs 28:20

