One of our pastors has joked before that he does not think soup and only soup constitutes a meal.  When informed that soup is for dinner, he likes to say, “soup……aaaannnnd……?” 🙂

DSC07437 DSC07447

We like soup.  Just soup.  With crusty bread, yes.  But just soup is fine for us.

Last night, I made Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup.  We ate it with our favorite Bloomin Herb bread (which I seem to be making at least once a week nowadays.)  And it was a fantastic meal! 

It is extremely easy, and very autumn-ish. 

Also, I would just like to point out that when they say to “halve” the squash, what they REALLY mean is to split it into one 1/3 sized piece and another 2/3 sized piece. 

DSC07432

Thought I’d let you in on that little secret of mine. 

I need to either go back and retake elementary mathematics, or become more skilled in wielding a knife. 

A few changes I made:
– I added 1 1/2 tsp. salt (it needed it!!)
– I reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 c.  I may even do less next time.
– I added 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper (for a kick)
– I omitted the cinnamon
– I used an entire medium onion

Okay, so that’s more than “a few.”  Oh well.  It was good!  I’ll be making this again.  It is the perfect fall meal.

DSC07441

