Part II involves, as I mentioned previously, the aquarium.
We had a grand time.  And I will do my best to make fish interesting.
If you so desire, you may play the game that we played while waltzing around the exhibits: Who Does this Fish Look Like?
It can be a fun game.  But consider yourself warned: it can get nasty. ;)  Which is why I will not be divulging our opinions on who looks like what fish. 

We will start with the Zebra Shark:
DSC07147

Now, there are two kinds of people when it comes to offering a response to the fact that this fish is, supposedly, named after a Zebra.  You know, the horsey things that have STRIPES?
There are the people who say (loudly), “What idiot named THIS shark?”
And there are the more humble people who wonder if perhaps THEY are the ones missing something.
I tend to be that person who automatically assumes that someone ELSE was the idiot and on drugs when naming this fish.

UNTIL, I did what you’re supposed to do at nature exhibits:
read the wall plaques.
Turns out someone anticipated my harsh judgment.  This shark is apparently born with stripes.  Not spots.  Hence the name.  Though, perhaps if they had waited to name the shark until it grew up, they could have avoided all idiocy accusations.

This first guy here on the left looks like a Cat-Man-Fish, no?

DSC07155 DSC07158 DSC07159 DSC07161

My thought-process on the skeleton below is rather embarrassing, and should remain in my head, but for the sake of the blog, I will tell all.
This mammoth was hanging from the ceiling.
DSC07164

My thoughts were as follows:
Oh my, that’s big.
Why is a dinosaur at the aquarium?  Shouldn’t that be at the Franklin?
Oh wait, no, maybe it’s a sea monster.  That would make more sense.
But that can’t be real.  No way.  Leviathan?  In Baltimore?  I doubt it.
So then, what IS it?

The plaque on the wall must have known I’d ask that question.

Because, like a Howler out of Harry Potter, it screamed at me:

IT’S A WHALE, YOU DUMMY!

:) 

But even now I’m having second thoughts…because I thought whales were made of cartilage, not bone?  Maybe that’s just sharks…
Clearly I need to go back to the aquarium because I didn’t learn enough.

Moving on.
We found Nemo. (and Marlin, I suppose)
And we said anemone until we couldn’t say it correctly anymore.

DSC07168

And then we found Dory…

DSC07181

And then we found a picture of the fish that almost ate Marlin & Dory…

DSC07169

And I took a picture of this fish because I thought it was Deb.  But that wasn’t right, and then I thought perhaps it was Sharkbait?  Wrong again.  But now I have a picture of this fish and I feel obligated to use it.

DSC07180

Kind of looks like the fish who pointed Nemo and Dory towards the EAC, no? 

DSC07205

Once we had successfully relived Finding Nemo, we headed up to the rainforest where a lovely aquarium attendant snapped this photo for us. 

DSC07192 

Then we walked down the Shark Ramp.  The sharks were by far my favorites.

DSC07214

Mike and I were talking about how many different kinds of fish there are, and how it displays the creativity of our God.  Who else would create something so beautiful yet hidden so far under water?  This one in particular blew me away.

DSC07220

The Australian exhibit…

DSC07223 DSC07224

And, even though it’s dark, here we are inside a huge shark jaw fossil.
DSC07228

All I can say is, this is why I am on land, and sharks are in the sea.

And that concludes our Baltimore trip.  Thanks for a fabulous trip, my dear.  I’ve said it before, but marrying you was the best decision I ever made.  Here’s to many more years together.  May God bless each and every one of them.  I love you!!!

