Today was a favorite sort of day, for the following reasons.

#1) We started the day with an English Breakfast at the Smiths’.  Tom travels to the UK often, and he decided to cook a traditional English breakfast for everyone!  It was delicious.  Scones, Tea, Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Broiled Tomatoes, Hash Browns, and Baked Beans.  Let’s just say, there was no need for lunch today. 🙂

#2) We finally bought a new fridge!  It’s been on our To-Do-List since some time in November.  I love it!  It has so much more storage space and I will now be able to fit everything in an organized sort of way.

#3) We didn’t fight over fridges

#4) We got a new TV!  We have now entered the 21st century 🙂

#5) We didn’t fight over TVs.

#6)  I finished painting Julia’s dresser (yesterday) and got it put back together and filled with all her clothes (today)!  HUGE accomplishment for me.  I’ve been working on this for the past 2 weeks.  Definitely the longest time it’s taken me to finish a project.

This dresser was Mike’s growing up.  And it was/is very nice wood.  Only, he and Sean drew on it.  No, not as children.  As adults.  Phone numbers, iTunes codes, phrases that make absolutely no sense whatsoever to me.  Fortunately, paint can fix most things 😉

Before:
               DSC05913

After:
               DSC05951 DSC05939 DSC05943

Filled with little girl clothes….can’t tell you how excited I am!!DSC05947

And little girl hair ties and headbands…
                               DSC05950

I’m full term today.  Absolutely cannot wait to meet her.  We have a Smith/Sharp pool for guesses as to when little JuJu will arrive.  We’ll see who wins…

#7) We grilled out for dinner tonight.  I got Mike a Weber grill for Father’s Day and he grilled up some sausage sandwiches and corn.  Fantastic summer meal!

                              DSC05934
      DSC05954

I’ve been making this BBQ corn for years, and it is one of my favorite ways to eat corn on the cob. 

BBQ Corn on the Cob
Source: Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:
1 tsp. chili powder
1/8 tsp. oregano
1 pinch onion powder
cayenne pepper to taste
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 c. butter, softened
6 ears corn

Directions:
1) preheat grill to medium-high heat
2) Mix softened butter and spices.  Slather on corn and roll up each ear of corn in foil, twisting ends.
DSC05927 DSC05930
3) Grill 20-30 minutes until tender, turning occasionally. 

If you don’t have a grill, or don’t want to grill it, I think the chili butter would still be a good spread to serve alongside boiled corn in place of just regular butter. 

Also, special instructions from Mike: eat it like a machine.  I got reprimanded for not cleaning my ear properly.  Here, Mike demonstrates what an ear of corn should look like by the time you are done with it:

                      DSC05960

#8.) We are now enjoying a relaxing evening watching LOTR.  Gotta love summer evenings before baby comes 🙂

Happy Father’s Day!!!!

