Isaiah 40:18, 22, 25-26

“To whom then will you liken God,
or what likeness compare with Him?”

“It is He who sits above the circle of the earth,
and its inhabitants are like grasshoppers.”

“To whom then will you compare me,
that I should be like him? says the Holy One.
Lift up your eyes on high and see: who created these?
He who brings out their host by number,
calling them all by name,
by the greatness of His might,
and because He is strong in power,
not one is missing
.”

I read this right after lifting up a particular anxiety that was weighing heavily on my heart.  And this is how God answered me!  I was at once cut to the heart, because what do I do but compare God to myself: I often view Him in light of my strength, my abilities, my control over matters.
And I then fret because of that, and rightly so!  If God is like me and only as powerful as me, then I am doomed indeed and have much cause for concern.
But!  But, God is not like me!  I am like Him, for we are created in His image, but oh He is not like me!  He sits above the earth, I on it; and as such, I am an inhabitant like a grasshopper.  And if I am but a grasshopper compared to Him, that is the best possible news to encourage my soul, for it means that my cares and concerns are but grasshopper-sized problems!  It means that my God is not limited, but rather He is strong in power and great in might.
And as such, I delight in being “like a grasshopper,” for there is much comfort in knowing my God can and will handle my grasshopper needs.  For even though I am but a grasshopper, I know that I am of far more value than the sparrows, whom God feeds, and that I will be clothed in splendor that even Solomon knew not. (Matthew 6:25-34)

What are your “grasshopper-sized” needs today?  Are you bringing them to the God who, because He is strong in power, sees that not one star is missing?

