So, I am back from the dead. 
Or, from this nasty cold at least.  Let me tell ya, it was a doozy.  Haven’t gotten it yet?  Have no fear.  You’ll probably get it soon.  It seems to be spreading rapidly.  It’s like the plague.  It’ll knock ya flat.  And I finally thought I was improving when the sinus pain hit last week.  You know, the kind that makes you feel like you’ve just been punched?  Or perhaps (in Reenie’s words) as though someone is shoving a cattle prod into the side of your face?  Yeah, that kind.  After trying all of my natural methods for 5 days to relieve the “pressure”, I finally admitted I needed the doctor.  And the prescription they gave me for my sinus infection is working wonders. 🙂

And not only did I get to keep the left side of my face after all, Mr. Sun decided to show his lovely smiling face today, making my joy complete.

But eventually came dinner.  Otherwise known as the ugly reality, You-are-an Adult-Now – Cook-Your-Food-Yourself.  See, I was supposed to meal plan on Saturday.  And shop on Saturday.  It is Tuesday.  And we have no food.  I love deadlines.  I love the sound they make as they go whooshing past.  (one of my favorite quotes.)

So yeah, needless to say, I wanted to crash my parents’ for dinner tonight.  BUT, I challenged myself.  I challenged myself to a) not get take-out and b) not mooch off of some poor unsuspecting friend or family member.

And this is what I came up with:

 DSC05297

I cooked up some whole wheat pasta, chopped up some cherry tomatoes, red and yellow bell peppers, and tossed it all together with grated Parmesan and White Balsamic Italian dressing.  (You can see the recipe for the dressing here.)  And for garnish I added about a TBSP of fresh parsley.  It was good!  Tasty and satisfying.  And I used up ingredients that would have otherwise gone bad PLUS I didn’t spend a penny!  Challenge conquered.

Here is Michael, clearly not ready for my “candid” shot.  He was making sure he didn’t have anything in his teeth.  And he is being gracious by letting me post this picture, because I think it is hilarious and he does not. :)  He’s a good sport.

DSC05298

And, because I want your sympathy, please observe this horse pill that I have to take:

 DSC05293 

It is ginormous.  This picture does not do it justice.  But please believe me when I say that it is like swallowing a cannonball.  (Yes, Traci, once again I am being overly dramatic.)  Fortunately, it is allowing me to remain upright for more than an hour at a time, so I am willing to endure it.

Finally, to celebrate the warm weather and the fact that the left side of my face didn’t explode, I told Mike to get in the car for a surprise.  However, it did not end up being much of a surprise because before we even got out of our neighborhood he guessed where we were going. 

 DSC05308 DSC05306

It must be punishment for spoiling every surprise anyone has ever tried to spring on me.  I suppose I deserve it.  (Although, in my defense, I have not hijacked anybody’s palm pilot in about 5 years!)

DSC05302 DSC05300  DSC05305

We still had a grand ol’ time.  Mike got an Orange Misto.  I got a Mango Gelati.  And yes, I got the large.  Seriously, it’s only 40 cents more.  It was the best value.  Plus, I’m pregnant, and Julia was demanding her fair share.  What kind of mother would I be if I said no to that?

We are looking forward to many more Rita’s trips as the weather gets nicer and nicer.  Spring, here we come!

