That’s what the forecasters are calling this latest snowstorm.  For those of you who are keeping track, this is monster-storm #4.  Which, it’s really not, because we’re only supposed to get 6-12”.  But I suppose Fox needs something catchy to keep their audience glued to the TV during their 24-hour-live-storm-coverage.

So they are calling it the Snowicane.  I kid you not.  I am rebelling and watching TLC and Food Network instead.  I don’t need to see Fox’s “snowglobe” coverage.  I have windows in my house, thank you very much.

Anyways, I refuse to let this snow ruin my plans for today.  While it is true that I will not be officially changing my name today (sad, I know), I will press onward with my social plans.  Meg and I are going to Specialteas Tea Room in Chadds Ford for her birthday, and nothing will stop us now.  No, not even you, Snowicane.  Birthdays call for desperate measures.  I am very much looking forward to afternoon tea and scones with my dear friend.  And as for the name-changing-business – I’ve waited a year and half already.  I believe it can wait one week more.

In the meantime I plan to clean my house and read.  And try not to distract Michael who is working from home today.  This morning I was being silly and quite possibly annoying (as usual) and he just looked at me and said, “I can’t believe I live with you.”

…………

He then clarified that what he MEANT by that statement was that he very much ENJOYS living with me and he can’t believe he GETS to live with me, that he (somehow?) loves my silliness (God bless him).  Which, I of course know that’s what he meant, but the timing of the statement was something we had a good laugh about.  I’m glad he still loves me even after living with me for a year and a half.  I do believe I surprise even myself by how strange I really am.  I truly have a remarkable husband who puts up with me.

Although I must get him back by sharing what just transpired in my kitchen.  He is making a breakfast of bacon and eggs, and, I am sitting in the living room and, well, here is the conversation :

Michael: eeeeeewwwwww one of the eggs is BROKEN in the carton!  GROSS!
Me: huh!  I always check them before I buy them!  They weren’t broken when I bought them!  That’s very strange.

…………… (long pause)

Michael: yeahh…..weelllll….not entirely because the other day I opened the fridge and one of the egg cartons fell out.

??????

Eggs 101: They will break if you drop them 🙂

Anyways, moving on.  Because I love sharing good recipes that we come across, here is what we made for dinner last night:

DSC05176

Chicken with Artichokes and Angel Hair
by: Martha Stewart Everyday Food

Ingredients:
– coarse salt and ground pepper
– 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
– 8 thin chicken cutlets (about 1 and 1/2 lbs total.  I pounded the meat to make it tender.)
– 2 T olive oil
– 1 c. chicken broth (I use 2 c. because we like extra sauce)
– 1 can (14 oz.) artichoke hearts packed in water, rinsed, drained & quartered
– 2 T rinsed and drained capers
– 2 T butter
– 8 oz. angel-hair pasta
– 1/2 c. parsley leaves

Directions:
1) Set a large pot of salted water to boil.  Place flour in a shallow dish, and season with salt and pepper.  Dredge cutlets, shaking off excess.  In a large skillet, heat 1 T olive oil over medium-high heat.  Cook chicken in batches, adding remaining oil as needed, until light golden and cooked through.  Transfer to dish.
2) Add broth to skillet and bring to a boil; cook until reduced by half.  Add artichokes, capers, and the chicken with any juices.  Gently swirl to combine and bring just to a boil.  Remove skillet from heat.  Swirl in butter and cover to keep warm.
3) Cook pasta according to package directions.  Serve chicken and sauce over pasta, topped with parsley.

I understand artichokes and capers are not foods that are universally liked, but we like them and really enjoyed this dish. 🙂  Very light yet satisfying!

And I cannot leave without telling you about one of my favorite pantry items:

White Balsamic Vinegar

DSC05185

Oh my goodness.  I cannot even tell you how much I love this.  So incredibly different than regular Balsamic Vinegar.  Trader Giotto says this about it: “It has a sweet-sour taste that makes it suitable for hors d’oevres, salad dressings, entrees and desserts…Two differences in the process result in a similar vinegar of a different color: it isn’t aged in wooden barrels, and the dark color of the traditional Balsamic Vinegar is filtered out, leaving the crystal clear tint and distinctive taste.”

I used it in the last meal I posted on here, Chicken Salad with Green Beans, Potatoes and Peppers.  I added a few splashes to the Artichoke sauce for last night’s dinner and it gave it a nice sweet tang.  Also, and this is probably my favorite recipe for it, use it in your Italian Salad Dressing.  You know those Good Seasons packets that you mix with oil, vinegar and water?  Use this White Balsamic Vinegar and it is DIVINE.  My Aunt Donna first introduced us to this way of making homemade Italian dressing, and it is one of my favorites.  Just Romaine lettuce, grated Parmesan cheese and croutons tossed in this White Balsamic Dressing and you’ll have a keeper salad recipe for the rest of your life.  Try it! 🙂

