I like things that make life easier 🙂
So here is a smattering of recent things I’ve found work well for me. So, if you like them too, great. We can be friends. If not, I won’t be offended. I have been informed by my husband and sister-in-law that I am “different.” Hmmmmmmm.

Google Calendar. Need I say more?

Still Tasty. This site will change your kitchen life and hopefully remove any paranoia of whether or not to eat the Popsicle that’s been in the freezer for 3 months. Just type in what food you’re looking for, and it will tell you if it’s still good/safe to eat! Love it.

10 Unexpected Natural Cleaners. Some very helpful tricks. How do they discover these things?

Go Paperless. Reduce clutter. Not sure I can do EVERYTHING they’re suggesting here, but I like the idea. I think a shredder is on my list of things to get (and should be on my list of things I already have. oops.)

Grocery shopping on Saturday or Sunday morning. I did this yesterday and it was aMAZing. No traffic. No crowds. Out at 7am, back by 9 am. One of the reasons I really like it is because Trader Joe’s and Gentile’s Market are both rather far from me. But the roads were clear so I got there in no time!! And Trader Joe’s – i basically had the place to myself. I LOVE that. (also, shout out to Reenie and Traci who told me about Gentile’s. I have tasted and I have seen. I will be going back. If you haven’t gone yet, you should.)

Make a Discussion List.  What is that?  I make a list of things Mike and I need to discuss at a later time. This idea is actually not mine at all. It’s one of the wisest wisdoms my mother has ever shared with me (though there are many). It usually revolves around scheduling or finances or any kind of decision that requires joint-involvement and/or passing of information. And I usually choose the most inopportune moments to bring up these issues. For example: when shopping for a fridge, don’t ask your husband the maximum height of your fridge cubby at 1:00 pm when he’s in the middle of a project at work and miles from the fridge cubby and a tape measure….
I’ve been doing this since I was 8 years old I think. I am very much an i-need-an-answer-to-this-question-now-or-i-don’t-think-i-can-go-on-living-anymore kind of person. And old habits die hard. So, we are going to try this: every time I have a thought that does not need to be answered ASAP, I just jot it down in my Moleskine and then we discuss at dinner. (To figure out whether something is “urgent” I ask myself, will someone die if you don’t bring this up at this precise moment?  No?  Ok. Write it down. And breathe.)
I have high hopes for this system. Maybe I will even learn to be patient through it! 😉

And lastly, this is not something that will make your life easier. But maybe it will make it tastier and healthier. I am making this for dinner tonight:

Chicken Salad With Green Beans, Potatoes, and Peppers

Check it out!

Update:  This is what ours turned out like.  Not quite as pretty.  But it was oh so yummy!!!  Healthy, tasty and filling 🙂  I roasted the chicken and veggies and used White Balsamic Vinegar for the vinaigrette.  I am savoring these days when it’s just us before I have kids who won’t eat this stuff…..

