The other night we had some very fun guests – Matt and Meg.  I made one of our favorite meals: Soft Grilled Chicken Tacos.  Cyndi sent me the recipe a while ago, and it quickly became a keeper.  I frequently rotate them into my meal plan.  The secret is in the homemade shells.  All you do is lightly fry flour tortillas in a little bit of canola oil until slightly crispy on the outside, still soft on the inside.  They are infinitely better than store-bought, and unbelievably easy.  They literally take about a minute per shell.

If you want the recipe, go here.  It’s from Cooking Light, but we kinda eliminate everything that makes in light 😉  The variations I make: I use chicken breast (not thighs), I use Habanero-Lime tortillas (from TJ), we use regular sour cream and cheese, we add all kinds of “fixins” with no regard for calories whatsoever.  And so you see, I cannot claim that my tacos are “light.”  I apologize.

Here are some chips I fried up as well, with hummus.

DSC05089

“Fixins”: Grilled chicken, guacamole, sour cream, cheddar cheese and salsa.  It’s a pretty fantastic combination.

DSC05092 DSC05094

And for dessert: broiled pineapple rings with vanilla ice cream.

DSC05096 DSC05100

The best part was when Matt got ahold of Mike’s ID badge and figured out that it made a super fun toy.  Here you can see he has wrapped it around his head like a bandanna, yet with the picture ID still visible.

DSC05102

We had a great time hanging out with them.  It had been a while since we’d had them over, and it was good to catch up and hear all that God is doing in their lives.  Meg is one of my best friends, and she is also pregnant and due just a little over a month after me – August 21st.  Can’t wait to raise our kids together!  Even though there is pretty much no chance of either of them being normal, we are very excited for them to grow up together 🙂

