Tonight we had these:DSC05081

If you like cheese, salsa and avocados, I think you would like these burgers.  It was a nice twist on a traditional favorite. 

Recipe from Real Simple, February 2010

Ingredients:

1 1/4 lb. ground beef
Salt, Pepper
1 tsp. paprika
Monterey Jack Cheese
Salsa (I get Trader Joe’s Salsa Authentica – very good and authentic.  For jarred salsa anyways)
Avocado
Buns (or bread.  We toasted some Tuscan bread and it worked well.)

– Season the ground beef with salt, pepper and paprika.  Form into 4 patties.

-  Cook in a skillet over medium-high heat, 4-6 minutes per side for medium; during the last 2 minutes, top with Monterey Jack cheese.  (We just grilled ours.)

– Serve on buns with salsa and sliced avocado.

They were good!  And incredibly easy.  Although, I cooked the tar out of these suckers – because I am paranoid like that.  So, next time I may let Mike do the grilling so we don’t end up with hockey pucks for burgers ;)  Fortunately, I did not burn them.  They were just super well done. 

