Yesterday we had a grand old time waltzing around the city.  I was planning to visit the Holocaust Memorial Museum, but it was raining in the morning so I postponed that trip until tomorrow.

While Mike was in meetings I went out and about.  I had breakfast at Bruegger’s Bagel shop where I enjoyed a peaceful, lengthy quiet time.  Did some shopping.  Saw a statue.  (It would sound better to say that I saw multiple statues, but alas, it was just one.)  Met up with Mike for lunch.  And went back to the room and watched Masterpiece Theatre’s Emma.  It was delightful.

Here is the hotel we’re staying at.DSC04954 DSC04955

DSC04958

The buildings are beautiful.DSC04937 DSC04944 DSC04995

And for lunch, Mike wanted Sushi, so we went to the Singapore Bistro.  Though, really, where we should have gone is the place right next to it: The Science Club.  Mike did not appreciate my joke.

DSC04969 DSC04970

It was very fun and colorful inside.

DSC04977 DSC04991

Mike got sushi.  I did not.  But I’m sure that’s no surprise to anyone.

DSC04980 DSC04984 DSC05004.ARW

And, yes, I was a history major, and I had to look up who this guy was.  Nevermind that earlier in the day I had also struck out on my definition of Oliver Cromwell when Mike asked me what was so important about the guy.  I mean, really, it’s not like he had asked me about this guy, Farragut, who it turns out was the senior officer of the U.S. Navy during the Civil War.  It’s Oliver Cromwell.  It was highly embarrassing.

DSC05007 DSC05011 DSC05013 DSC05015

Today I head out to Gburg!  I am having coffee with Ally and then several ladies are going over the Bowers for lunch.  I cannot wait!

And tonight we are going to a business dinner at Morton’s Steakhouse.  Where once again I will be smiling and nodding as everyone around me talks in terms of protein gels and biopharm developments.  But I am really looking forward to it.  I love seeing Mike in his element.  And to console myself that they may as well be speaking in a foreign language for all I understand, maybe I’ll just spout my mouth off about Oliver Cromwell and make them feel sorry they didn’t major in history 😉

