Mike is on a business trip in DC, and so we came down a little early yesterday to tour Georgetown.  It is one of my favorite places ever.  I’ll never forget, when we were living in Gaithersbug, Mom surprised me with a girls day out to Georgetown, and it’s one of my most dear memories.  It’s no secret I had a bit of an attitude issue as we adjusted to the move (Ally and Kelley, remember those mopey days of mine? 😉 and I was heading out to some event that I was not so enthusiastic about.  (Praise the Lord, He eventually changed my heart, but that was my status at the time.)  As I approached the end of the neighborhood, what do I see out my car window but Andrew and Rosie standing with cardboard signs that read “Go home!  Mom’s taking you to Georgetown today!”  We had one of the best days ever.  We did some shopping at the Gap and other various stores, ooohed and aahhed at all the delicacies in Dean & DeLuca, and had a delightful lunch on the outdoor terrace of a darling bistro.  Thinking about it still moves me to tears (although I’m willing to admit that it may just be because I’m pregnant.)  It’s because I was pretty selfish that entire year and acted as though I was the only one having a difficult time adjusting.  And I was not quick to change, either.  But Mom loved me all the same.  And not just in words, but in selfless actions, even though it certainly wasn’t what I deserved at the time!  I mean, really, when your teenage daughter mopes her way out of the house in the morning, I’m sure the last thing you feel like doing is “rewarding” her with a surprise trip to Georgetown. 😉

So many times that year, she loved me like Christ loves his children.  I’m not even kidding, I’m crying right now as I type this! 

1 Corinthians 13:1-2 “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.  And if I…understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.”

Mom had (and still has) all these qualities AND love.  And that’s what I think of when I think of Georgetown.

So, needless to say, I was excited to go back.  And even more so because I was going with the love of my life!  Let me just tell you, Michael is an excellent travel buddy.  

DSC04908 DSC04911

Of course, we had to stop in Dean & DeLuca.  It was just as amazing as I remembered it.  And just as expensive.  Mike had a good time walking around exclaiming such incredulities as “Gummy coke candies for $10/lb!?”  “A strawberry cake for $60?!” 

DSC04913 DSC04915

After doing some more shopping, we stumbled across this authentic Italian restaurant called Luigi’s.  And let me tell you, this was so authentic my own Aunt Rachel would have eaten here.  This was no Olive Garden shenanigans.  It was fantastic.   

DSC04918 DSC04925 DSC04920 DSC04921

Mike got Chicken Parmigiana, and I got Luigi’s lasagna.  Then we shared a basket of Italian bread as well as Fried Mozzarella.  I don’t think I have to spell it out here – we were the size of stuffed turkeys by the time we walked out of there.

For dinner conversation, we happened to be seated next to some lovely people who were also in town for the conference.  As it turned out, they were with a company that Mike has been working extensively with in recent months, so they had quite a bit to talk about.  They talked all science–like and I just sat there mesmerized and quite in awe.  They even shared their pizza with us.  Which, really was not necessary in light of the dinner we had just eaten. 

It was a lovely day.  Tomorrow I’ll post some pics from my day traipsing around DC.  It was very relaxing and enjoyable.  Also tomorrow – Gburg!  To see some lovely ladies who are very dear to my heart 🙂

